Day 5 (Part 1): De Hoge Veluwe National Park

I would have to say that this was an experience I will never forget and hopefully I can visit De Hoge Veluwe again. The 55km² nature reserve has wildlife ranging from big horned sheep and sand lizards to red deer and wild boar.

The park has hundreds of white, one-speed bikes stationed throughout the park at bike posts. This is the best way to see everything in the park within a few hours. By taking a five minute bike ride, the landscape in the reserve graduates from forest to savanna and back. There are sand dunes and wetlands in the park as well.

This is something I have never experienced in Toronto. The national parks that I have been to were mainly forests, but the clashing landscape and warm weather made me feel as if I was closer to the equator, even though the Netherlands is further north than Toronto.

Leave a Reply

